royal signals info please?

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by madtaff, May 6, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hi all,

i am joining the royal signals, have my start date as 25th june, i had chosen electronic warfare operator but missed out by two places and so now i am going in as a communications systems operator, my question is mainly is there any extra info that anyone can give me for phase 1 and 2 for example is it worth getting a second smaller wash kit to use in the field etc?, also would very much like to know if later on in my career i would be able to train as an ewo? I am more than happy to be a comms operator, but seeing as how ewo was my initial choice i feel that it would be something that i would like to look into.

thanks all

madtaff

2. I would get yourself a 'field wash kit' together... Just a small version of everything.

Don't dispair on the EWO front. Work hard get your Op qual up and then you never know, the postings out there, and little niche roles are legion. You will no doubt find a fun slot somewhere.

3. thanks Chocolate Frog, much appreciated!

4. My personal opinion is that although you will indeed need a second smaller wash kit (and numerous other things), don't waste your money buying stuff until you get there. The Permanent Staff will tell you EXACTLY what you need, so you don't end up buying rubbish that you don't need. You should have been given a kit list. Buy the essential items that it says, but don't bother with the desirable stuff. You can get that later when you need it or decide that you want it.

The one piece of advice I would give though, is don't bother wasting money on a shit iron. Buy one of those big steam generator things. Yes, they're expensive, but it will save you much time, not just in training, but for many years afterwards.