Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Royal Regiment of Scotland

Evening,

I have started my application for officer with the intention of applying to the infantry. Being from Scotland, the Royal Regiment of Scotland is my goal. Could any persons in the know please advise on my below queries?

- I will be 27 on potential entry to RMAS, is age considered at regiment interviews? I am conscious of being closer to the upper age limit.
- I have no prior military experience or family connection to the RRS, is this a disadvantage?
- At RMAS, what are the infantry regiments looking for in the officer's?
- Does RRS take on officer's at most RMAS pass-outs?
- I have read these forum threads and it seems many regiments are over applied for (Para's for example). Is RRS the same as its infantry?
- It seems to be a recurring theme of top 30% get infantry choices, is this true?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Probably not as helpful as you'd like, though in the duration I was in the RRS every young subbie bar none who rocked up to battalion had been a physically fit and robust cross country/ skiing/ rugby playing type in their early twenties that, while inexperienced had made up for their naivety through being mega keen field types.

I knew numerous RRS C/Sgts, WOs and LE officers who did stints at RMAS as instructors, men who I looked up to at the top of their game as infantry SNCOs then, and I couldn't imagine any of them allowing dross to pursue a career in the RRS as potential platoon commanders :smile:

Thanks for the response, appreciate it. That's good to know - you say they were early twenties, did you ever see any around 27? That's probably my main concern. Obviously 3 years or so isn't a big deal in the grand scheme of things.

Did you enjoy your time in the RRS?