Royal Irish

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by Gallagher, Feb 21, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey Guys,
    I'm a wanabee army officer at this point with the aim of joining after University as an infantry officer. I was hoping you guys could give me a good insight into the Royal Irish (ie. their officers, respect and thoughts around the army) as their website and searches on this forum hasn't brought up the desired results.

2. They're a superb outfit mate but I'd say it would be a good option for you to talk to HHQ first of all because places will be hard to get. You've got three first rate line regiments amalgamated into one and you'll be competing with the sons, grandsons and great-grandsons of every officer who ever served with them. That means they can afford to set their standards very high and having been amongst them a lot recently that would appear to be the case.
  3. DPM

DPM Old-Salt

Ring up their RHQ and get yourself on a visit to the 1st Battalion. Its the only way to find out for sure - try and go for a week, with a couple of days at least on exercise or training with the lads.

And the sooner the better, before Sandhurst.

4. I naively never thought of that and it's starting to make me a bit nervous. I'm actually still in Upper Sixth with the aim of joining the QUOTC. What do you reckon would be a smart move for me to pursue to increase my chances as I have had only an uncle in the RIR reaching Corporal.
  5. You're doing the right thing by investigating it now. You can find out if there might be a place for you or if you've no chance you've plenty of time to rethink.

It's Paddy's Day in a couple of weeks. Why not blag a visit (phone the adjutant) and see them in their natural environment. I'd take a flak jacket if I were you. They will be letting a lot of steam off :plotting: