Royal Engineers or RAMC?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by breadhead, Apr 29, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. As the title suggests I'm seriously considering a stint in the army, but am torn between these two fine and respected corps.

Luckily, I'm in the position of not having to be so worried about my quals when I leave as I have a degree, so those who argue CMT won't leave me as well off as if I had a trade in the RE, rest assured - I have considered this.

My three job preferences would be Combat Medical Technician in the RAMC, and C3S or Materials Technician (although sparky & DD hold a certain appeal). However, my problem is I can't decide in which order!

How does day-to-day life compare, as well on tours? Which has the most potential for opportunity and a good lifestyle? Which am I more likely to enjoy doing? I'm after a good hands-on role, but that requires some aptitude in the brain department, preferably in combat situations. All this, and, essentially, having a job where I can hold my head high at the end of the day and be proud.

Any advice, especially from those in the know, would be appreciated.

2. RAMC
  3. Sack all of it and become a planty. You will be put in charge of shaping gods green earth for him. This highly respected position has some advantages.

1. You will be sent straight to heaven after your stint as gods landscape gardener.
    2. You will have your own palace complete with 365 virgins.
    3. The beer will flow from golden taps.
    4. You will want for nothing.

Please keep this a garded secret only the asended know of it.