Royal Engineers National Units

Clynester

Clanker
Hi all,

I am looking at moving to Dorset in October for work (I'm a Civil Engineer) and this will coincide with getting a bit more freedom from my previous job. As a result, I was looking at joining the Army Reserve, which I've wanted to do for quite a while. Given my Civil Engineering career and degree, I was thinking about joining the Royal Engineers, however, in coastal Dorset (Weymouth/Bournemouth, where I'm probably going to be renting), there are no RE units. The closest RE unit to me is 131 Commando Squadron in Bath, which is still up to two hours' drive.

With that in mind, are there any national units available within the Royal Engineers that I could join? Would I be able to join 131 Commando, but due to the distance I would have to travel, be allowed to serve a reduced number of training nights, perhaps?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi all,

I am looking at moving to Dorset in October for work (I'm a Civil Engineer) and this will coincide with getting a bit more freedom from my previous job. As a result, I was looking at joining the Army Reserve, which I've wanted to do for quite a while. Given my Civil Engineering career and degree, I was thinking about joining the Royal Engineers, however, in coastal Dorset (Weymouth/Bournemouth, where I'm probably going to be renting), there are no RE units. The closest RE unit to me is 131 Commando Squadron in Bath, which is still up to two hours' drive.

With that in mind, are there any national units available within the Royal Engineers that I could join? Would I be able to join 131 Commando, but due to the distance I would have to travel, be allowed to serve a reduced number of training nights, perhaps?

No - you cannot be excused attending the required training due to distance.
Look for what is available near you, pick the one that gives the best vibe, enjoy that for a few years.