Rossetta Stone language learning program

Discussion in 'Films, Music and All Things Artsy' started by Devil_Dog, Mar 18, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi folks,

Has anyone here used the Rosetta Stone CDs to learn a different language and if so, is it worth it?

The price is rather steep (about 300 bucks) and I am not about to invest so much on a product I know nothing about.

So, if you are familiar with it, please share your comments and experience. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

2. I'm using one at the moment. As a complete novice with the language I'm trying to learn it has got me off to a good start. But feel I will need to supplement my learning with other methods.

One feature of the Rosetta Stone courses is that they don't translate the words into English or explain the grammar. You have to work it for yourself from the examples. I'm not sure if that is a better way of learning or not. Probably it is but for me personally I'd like something a little more technical that explains the language structure and grammar more.

I wouldn't invest 300 bucks in the CDs. Fortunately it was available to borrow from the local library here.

Just my opinion from a monoglot.

3. I used it for Chinese, well impressed, I had tried everything else to no avail Rossetta Stone sorted me out - I am just about to buy the Arabic & Spanish ones (work and women). Its pricey but well worth the dollars.

In regards to PsyWar.Org 's experience I found that my problem was that all other course WERE attempting to explore the grammer - a f*cking nightmare with Chinese.

4. just a thought, but if you are worried about shelling out 300 have a look on ebay, maybe somebody is selling their old tapes/discs...

5. Or try torrents ;)

6. I didn't think we were allowed to mention those....