RMP Selection

Discussion in 'AGC, RAPTC and SASC' started by cidercountry, Nov 27, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello guys, I'm a newbie and was hoping for a bit of advice. I've applied to join the army with RMP as my first choice, and although I'll except the opportunity for 2nd/3rd choice, RMP is, if the truth be told, the only army career I'm really passionate about. I'm currently waiting on my dates for selection having done my BARB (78), and sent off my medical last week. My recruiter has suggested selection will hopefully be in January. Presuming I pass off ok, does anybody have an idea of when phase 1 for the RMP would commence? I understand RMP is a popular choice and I might have a wait on my hands, but any info people could give me would be most appreciated. Thanks.

2. Ok here goes. I am also going for RMP. I had selection at the beginning of this month at Pirbright and did everything well apart from when it came to the team tasks. Apparently I didn't speak up enough and got deferred for 3 months but atleast I passed the medical I guess :D . The reason I am telling you this is because you have to do really well on the team tasks specifically because RMP get their first stripe after training (as you should know) so you have to show more leadership potential than the other people on your selection who don't get their first stripe straight away e.g Infantry. "They don't just give you it"- I was told.

So make sure you do well on those specifically but obv do well all round. As for starting basic, I was looking at around April if I had passed so yes it is quite a bit of a wait as they are heavily oversubscribed (apparently) but worth it from what I understand.

How old are you? because that's sometimes a factor