RLC- Air despatcher V Ammo Technician

Discussion in 'RLC' started by MerryDown, Oct 26, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Before I get told to bogoff, I am looking for some sound advice from those "within" the RLC............................my son wants to sign up early next year and is looking at the air despatch job. However whats the score from those doing it.....................We need to know !

Is the ammo technician job a good alternative or is it not.........................we need to know.

which board if not this one will be the best to post on...................any help would be appreciated.
  2. This is the right board, if you can get anyone give you a sensible answer. I'm an Anmmunition Technician, so I'm biased, but that's also the one I'd recommend. I don't know what pay range AD people are on, but ATs are all on the higher range (except LCpls, but he won't be one of those for very long). The AT trade is being expanded, and we're short of sergeants, which is where ATs really start to do what we want them for, so promotion at the moment is staggeringly, indecently quick.

On the down side, there's a selection process to get through before technical training starts and the courses are long and hard. A fair amount of academic aptitude is required. And the downside of the quick promotion/undermanned thing is that he will be working very hard when is fully qualified until all the posts are filled, which will be a long, long way off.

Oh, and as a final clincher, we get to blow things up. Can't say fairer than that.
  3. I have had the pleasure of serving as an Air Despatcher, granted it was some years ago but I really enjoyed it.