Rifle Sights

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by trap-door, Dec 15, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi I just wanted to ask a few questions about rifle sights. Has anyone who’s used a KITE image intensifier sight found any problems with it e.g. in urban environments? I was interested to read that some sights now incorporate a thermal imaging camera. I was wondering if anybody had used one of these and what you thought of them as they look really bulky and heavy.
  2. Least they chose an avatar this time!
  3. Could've at least tried harder - KITE sight FFS
  4. Thales electronics have just developed it's replacement. They've called it Vampr 2 and I think thats the one thats has a thermal imaging camera and I've heard it has a smaller laser designator aswell.
  5. Hi
    I am sorry you think I am a journalist, I am really only interested in the sights themselves and how an image intensifier sight compares against an infra red sight. From what I have read the image intensifiers suffer from bloom when directed at say a bright light, while the infrared sights do not, as they only detect heat, but the infra red sights seem much bigger and bulkier than image intensifier sights.

Can somebody who has used either/both explain how they found the sights; usability, battery life, weight, resolution etc.