RFCA London website

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Dr_Evil, Jun 13, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. One of my perversions is that I occasionally like to pretend I am a total newbie to the TA world and then see how accessible/interesting/appealing the info available about the TA is.

That's how I came to the view that the www.ta.mod.uk site is appalling in that it doesn't directly give any information about individual units without requiring punters to hand over their details first: very intrusive if all you're doing is browsing for info. It takes a bit of technical skill to find the websites of those TA units switched-on enough to have their own site - and even that requires divulging your home postcode to the Man. Grr.

Worse still is the RFCA London website, which I have just had the misfortune of looking at. The TA page within it has a slideshow of the most ridiculous, unrepresentative and unappealing pictures. Staggering.

Although they do make wearing a Santa bobble hat when in C95 look like fun.

Internet-wallahs, please fix.

2. Interesting. I was on the TA website today trying to find some information on the new (wef 1 Oct) training regime for recruits. Can I find anything? Er, the sad answer is nottalot.

So, my vote is with yours. Something needs to be done quickly asit all looks a bit disjointed at the moment.

3. I think some bright spark must have thought: marketing the TA as a load of different units only confuses people and dilutes the TA brand. Let's keep it simple: there is one monolithic TA. Let's get them in to a TA site and then direct them to wherever is nearest.

Never mind if that means that finding out about what the TA actually does is impossible on that site without handing over personal information first.

Thank God for wikipedia.

4. msr

msr LE