Review of Cyprus LOA?

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by Mrs_Customs, Oct 5, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello everyone,
    I'm a bit of a newbie here and found your website as the result of some frantic googling. I was hoping you could help me although I'm not technically MOD personnel.
    My husband currently works for Customs in the UK but has been offered the Customs post at the SBA in Akrotiri. Ever since the job was offered we've had no end of issues with whether or not we're going due to lost security forms, pay reviews, you name it.

The latest sticking point came from an e-mail from hubby's potential employer stating that the COLA or LOA is changing as of 01/10/06.
    Our background is that we are a family with two children under five, and my husband's post is the equivalent of flight lieutenant with the RAF.

We were originally advised that the COLA would be around £8.8K, but have now been quoted a figure of either £4649 or £4314, which is basically a 50% cut.

I don't know if anyone can help and am totally in the dark about whether Civilian staff attract a different rate, however if anybody could shed some light on this I would be incredibly grateful as this could affect whether or not we accept the post or not.

Mrs C
  2. Auld-Yin

Auld-Yin LE Reviewer Book Reviewer Reviews Editor

If money is the only issue - then don't go. Give it to someone who wants to do the job. It is not as if your hubby is going to be deployed to Iraq or Afghanistan after all. It is an 'all paid' holiday for you FFS.
  3. Perhaps I should clarify before I am barracked further.
    At the moment, out of necessity both hubby and I work shifts, sharing childcare responsibilities. This worked well until our eldest started school and now I see less of her and a lot less of my husband.