Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reservist Advice

So I have got to the stage in life when I want to try something different. I run regularly and have entered several marathons and half marathons. I have over 15 years of experience in IT Support. I would like to be able to use these skills along with my degree to learn new skills.

However, I am not getting any younger. I applied for one unit near me and they basically said I didn't meet the requirements.

My questions are if I don't get into one unit can I apply for others?
I assume I am generally limited to which units I can join by where I live?
Can join the army effect household insurance or other health insurance?
What is the max-age to join the Army vs the RAF? ( again if I don't live near any RAF locations then I guess there is little point me applying for them).

So I have got to the stage in life when I want to try something different. I run regularly and have entered several marathons and half marathons. I have over 15 years of experience in IT Support. I would like to be able to use these skills along with my degree to learn new skills.

However, I am not getting any younger. I applied for one unit near me and they basically said I didn't meet the requirements.

What is the max-age to join the Army vs the RAF? ( again if I don't live near any RAF locations then I guess there is little point me applying for them).

Why didn't you meet their requirements?

Given the background described, the national units may be of interest, have a look at LIAG or JS cyber.