Reserve's or regulars?

Hi.

I am new to this so go easy... I am from northern Ireland, male, 33 years old

I will be getting attested for the REME this week but from I've been a young fella i have always wanted a career in the army, my dad was it it and some other family members so it's always been what i wanted to do, for years I was getting turned away due to my weight and height which was hard to take but I went away and I done what I needed to do and got the grades I needed to join the REME.

I am now in two minds should I join the resevers or go full time , I'm 33 now but I'm fit play football 4 times a week and coach football also times a week , my csm says it's up to me what path I pick now.

I would like some advice please on this , but also I don't really get the reserves pay?

On a drill night you don't get the day rate so is it just an hourly rate etc.

Sorry if the grammar isn't good , as I say this is my 3rd time of trying to get in and I can't see me having any problems with the basic trainning. So it's a big decision that I need your help with.

Sorry if this isn't in that right place , Thank you for your time.

Gary.

At 33 you have time, get your reserve basic done, get into a platoon and see of you enjoy it in general. Speak to the PSI about maybe going regular and see what they advise, speak to the ex regulars you will come across in the reserve and make a decision based on those factors.

The REME are a fine Corps.
The Reserves mean its Drill Night & Weekends with good training.
103 REME (R) good PSI's & FTRS staff and well led with a good whole training package on offer each year.

Regular Army and you will get a good career, Tiffy in most trades these days.
Not been to Lyneham as it was Bordon when I attened SEME as did other Cap Badges.

Depends what you want really, a full time career, pension and good prospects.
Or as a Reserve, part time but doing a regular job.