Reserve soldier to officer prospects after phase 1

InvictusNow

Swinger
Evening All,

I wanted to ask the following question having spoken to a few people and also searched online (on this site as well as elsewhere):

Has anyone here entered as a reserve soldier and then - after basic training (and/or regiment training) - later switched to progress a reserve officer application?

The reason for asking is that a while back I attended a regimental selection event and narrowly missed the threshold required for officer selection but passed that required for soldier selection. If i had to choose between going into this regiment as a soldier or another regiment as an officer I would choose the regiment, BUT!... I am still keen to progress down the reserve officer path within the regiment *if at all possible*.

I understand it is possible to qualify as a soldier within the regiment and then be sponsored by the unit to progress down the officer path. I was told this would be based on (a) the fact that I had a relatively narrrow miss for officer threshold and (b) a good first year demonstrating bearing and potential as an officer.

My quesion is: do you know anyone who has done this? What is the exact process? What are the pitfalls to watch out for and tips to succeed? Anything else you think I should know about the whole process?

Thanks,

RG

Just_plain_you

Old-Salt
What did you come up short on?

It's entirely possible to do, but you will need to demonstrate that you have addressed the areas of weakness.

InvictusNow

Swinger
What did you come up short on?

It's entirely possible to do, but you will need to demonstrate that you have addressed the areas of weakness.
Thanks for your reply.

Embarrasing as it sounds, it was the IQ assessment. From the scores i saw i did pretty well on everything else including the individual and group tests but it was the IQ test.