Reserve going full time regular/Para's/RM's age limits?

Hi all

I am 34 and seriously considering joining the forces but I am only able to apply for a reserve role due to my age if I want to be a combat soldier (I have no previous military experience).

I wondered, is it at all possible or has anyone heard of it happening for an older reservist to be taken on as a full time regular if they show exceptional attitude/fitness? I would like to join as a full time regular but cannot due to my age but part of me wonders whether if joining as a reserve and then (hopefully) proving myself as a worthy soldier you might be offered a full time role?

I also wondered why there is such a difference between the Royal Marines reserve age limit which is 33 years and the Para's which is 40? I though't that the both of them were very similar in regards to physical fitness requirements etc?

Cheers guys

Without trying to sound to demeaning how do you think that will happen? You can't really be talent spotted into full time training.

You will be able to undertake a FTRS where you can serve full time as a reservist but this may only be for a few years, you'll still be a reservist.

If getting they green lid is your aim then have a look at 131 (Reserve) Commando Squadron Royal Engineers.

Bluntly: A bit late to be considering a career in uniform isn't it? People tend to be in something by the time they are 21. At age 34 they are well experienced professionals with some rank - look across to a civvy career requiring around 2 to 3 years training and where is someone at age 34?