Request for help-Deac question 4(T) can you help?

Discussion in 'Shooting, Hunting and Fishing' started by armr617, Nov 8, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Aimed at 4(t) but any RFD may be able to help.

Mate has approached me at work, he has a enfield No.4 that he got in germany, deactivated, its been butchered, but i dont think enough for UK spec, he has no certs, and no deac prrof mark either.

Can anyone help with what to do next?

2. He should be able to contact the Birmingham Proof House and enquire about a deac certificate as they do most deactivations in this country if not all of them. They may want to inspect the weapon however, which if they are not happy with it, may result in it being confiscated though.

Bearing in mind im no expert, hope this helps.

3. I'm not sure that Firearms Laws and Proof Rules even mention foreign de-acts (foreign proofed firearms are recognised).

If the rifle matches UK "old spec" de-act standard, then probably no-one would even be able to tell it was done outside of UK, and it technically wouldn't need a certificate - as with old spec de-acts.

If any of the pressure-bearing parts are not cut and/or the barrel is not blocked or pinned, then it probably would not pass de-act criteria and probably ought to go back to an RFD to be re-cut and then Proofed/certified under the "new" specification.

4. The law on deacts is actually quite simple. In order to benefit from the 1998 Act, a firearm MUST be deactivated to the UK Spec. AND Certified as such by one the the two Proof Houses. If that is not the case then one takes one's chance in Court. This is in the Primary Legislation - no ifs, buts or maybes.