Reporting a driver for using a mobile phone whilst driving.

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by postman_twit, May 3, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. How seriously do the Police take these reports from motorists? I wouldn't normally bother but there is a little bit more to it then me been a c**t.

I'm a LGV driver and currently getting grief off my boss as I'm sticking to the rule book. I'm also getting grief off him when not sticking to the rule book (a story familiar to most wagon drivers). He had me in the other day to give me a reaming and told me to get a grip. The next day I see him 'off duty' driving his personal vehicle with his phone clamped to his ear.

Should I report him and if I do will the Police just take my word against his or will he need to produce call logs etc??? Will they even bother their backsides to follow it up? Just to make it a bit more interesting, he also holds his C + E licence. It is my understanding that any such driver may end up with a ban for this offence? This could well cost him his job. Do I keep this occurence as an 'ace up my sleeve' to cover my back and if so, how long would I have to report it by?

I welcome any feedback offering either legal or moral advice.

TIA,

P-T

2. Smash his fingers with a lump hammer whilst screaming, "Try using your phone now Noddy!"

• Like Like x 2
  3. He's a big lump who has spent nearly 20 years on the doors as a side line. The hammer approach may not work.

4. Hmmmm, may be best just to turn a blind eye then.

5. He's obviously jealous of your service for Queen and Country, flaunt your service by wearing medals, old kit and using Army slang.
    That'll learn 'im.

• Like Like x 1
  6. He'll probably get caught anyway if he's a prolific disobeyer. Hopefully he won't squash anyone first.