REME | VM, Recce Mech or Aircraft Technician

Sorry in advance if this is in the wrong thread.

So I'm in my last year of GCSEs and I am looking ahead to after sixth form. I've decided the army (more specifically REME) would probably be most suited to myself.
I've narrowed the trades down to three of interest:

-Recovery Mechanic
-Vehicle Mechanic
-Aircraft Technician

I was wondering which trade would be best for me; I'm looking for:

-deployment opportunities
-trade life
-responsibility
-potential qualifications (though definitely not a deciding factor)

Some basic info about me, bit of academic - "expected" grades of 8 - 6 (A* - B) - not the most confident but not shy and I have a big interest mechanics and engineering.

Cheers. ButtieChap.

Btw should I be expecting a war of trades on here?

Can you drink and fight?

Good Question. I can drink, bit of a novice to the whole fighting scene though.
Recovery Mechanic is a no no then... Out of interest do you know what a Recovery Mechanic does?

If you meet the educational criteria I'd suggest your choices should be in the following order:

1. Aircraft
2. Vehicles
3. Recovery

Not unsurprisingly the above choices are in order of educational requirements, that's not to say Recy Mech isn't a valued choice, it most certainly is in my experience, but it doesn't require huge amounts of GCES's and instead relies quite a lot on good humour, teamwork, strength, durability, a thick skin, drinking skills (not always in that order).

Last edited:
If you meet the educational criteria I'd suggest your choices should be in the following order:

1. Aircraft
2. Vehicles
3. Recovery

Not unsurprisingly the above choices are in order of educational requirements, that's not to say Recy Mech isn't a valued choice, it most certainly is in my experience, but it doesn't require huge amounts of GCES's and instead relies quite a lot on good humour, teamwork, strength, durability, a thick skin, drinking skills (not allways in that order).