Regular Officer + ACF Commission?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by curriej343, Sep 11, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there,

I have just started my application for a regular commission and have my interview in two weeks. I am currently an instructor with the ACF and I have been approached to see if I am interested in taking a commission. I'm not here to reignite the debate on whether it's a 'real commission' et cetra, however I am wondering whether it's worth applying for it with regards to my regular officer application? Will it benefit me or my application?
    I have explained to my 2IC my future plans and he still seems content for me to apply, even though I will (hopefully) only be an instructor for another year or so.
    Whilst I'm here, does anybody have any tips for the initial interview? I'm not too worried and I know there's been multiple threads about this, but seeing as I'm already asking a question I thought I may as well.

Thanks!

2. It wont hurt, and if your ACF are happy that you could depart in a year or so...

3. I vaguely recall that you cannot hold a commissioned post in one but not the other, or it might be a certain way round, my brain is fuzz, but I swear there are regulations concerning duel roles.

4. Apply for both. If you get to Sandhurst, super dobra. But if you do, you certainly won't have any spare time to commit to the ACF. If you get an ACF commission, but fail AOSB, at least you'll still have a cadet commission.

5. No Reg or MPGS, of any rank, can hold a postion in the ACF.

NRPS, TA and FTRS (and CCF) different rules apply. Manly consent of CO, and his/her acceptance of a (for example TA tom being a Sgt Instr (minimum) in the ACF), also an understanding that the ACF needs are second to that of the other service (inc CCF).