Regular Army - Late Joiner

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by daddypops, Mar 26, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I'am 30 years old and have made the decision to join the regular army, does any one have any advice?

Especially advice on the ADSC?

2. Hi Mate.

My advice is don't worry about your age just go for it. Im 29 and have just passed selection. Start basic 4 may.

In my experience i think being that bit older and more mature will help you through selection. Just be carefell about which regiment you choose those. Some jobs will be more physical demanding that others.

I wish you the best of luck mate.

3. It will be one of the best decissions you will make, if you don't you will always regret it, go for it & good luck Oppo.

4. Thanks Mate,

I have so far decided, to join the RLC as a Petroleum Operator, I have taken a career once leaving the army into account for this one, is this something you know much about as this was a job that was suggested by the Army Careers Office?

5. As long as your happy with your job choice mate then go with it. Don't be talking into a job you don't really want by the recruiting sergent. All that will happen is you will hate you time in the army, get out as soon as you can and wish you had neaver joined

6. have a search for one of the users called MSI64, not only is he a recruiter, he is also a Petroleum Operator ;)

7. Be prepared to be placed in a troop who are all approximately 10-12 years younger than you, both in Phase 1 and Phase 2 training. If you can put up with that and get through to the Regulars, you won't look back.
    Good Luck to you and welcome to the family*.
    Slipperman (37 years service and still counting!).

*(Of course, I mean the Army as a whole, not the RLC). :wink:

8. Hi,