Regimental ethos, a question

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by alfred_the_great, Aug 18, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Gents,

I've been perusing theses boards for a while now, and one question keeps on coming back to me...

Will young men really not join the Army, as Infantry, if the regiment they intend to join are not the Blogshires (with the Blogshires being their local County regiment)?

If this is true, and the fact the merging of the single Battalion regiments will cause massive recruitment difficulties, then how do the Support Arms continue to recruit? In fact, how do the Paras and Royals continue to recruit so well, with a geographically disperse recruiting pool, if our young men are so keen only joining Regiments with local links?

To help explain my bewilderment, I should say that I'm a Naval Officer, and having served in a whole 5 Ships, I've never seen a lack of espirt d'corps or camaraderie with the Ship's Companies.

yours aye,

2. Various infantry units (Light Div spring to mind, the RGJ specifically) recruit nationally and don't have a problem - as long as they've got bases in the original counties for recruiting (LI have teams in the traditional LI county areas - Shropshire, Herefordshire, Cornwall etc) it doesn't seem to be a problem.
  3. X-Inf

X-Inf War Hero Book Reviewer

Tthe question remains if there were no connections to County areas, would they still recruit as well? I have a feeling that the teams are kept in the county areas for a very good reason.

A-t-G mentioned Paras and Royals (Marines is presume). While I accept that these recruit nationally they are really recruiting in the same way as the County Regts. The Paras & RM recruit to an ethos - once they have that they guard it jealously - not too many cross posting from para/RM, except the ones who want to go play SF games.