Regiment With Largest Mess Bills?

Hi,

Out of interest, I was wondering if anyone knew where the largest mess bills were? I have stuck it in the RAC area as I assume it to be somewhere within this corps, but I am asking about the largest mess bills for the whole army! My initial guess would be household cavalry... Anybody know?

Thanks!

I used to be a chef in the officers mess with the QRH in Sennelager for my sins. A mess bill was levied against an officer for 12,000 euros prior to going on tour, this was not for a function or black tie night. This was a normal mess bill as the officers all had second incomes/inheritances etc and obviously more money than sense.

Further to this i do know of an officer at and RLC unit who "resigned" his commission after being unable to pay his mess bill!!

Officers mess Middle wallop in the early 60,s,lots of hooray henries playing at being pilots, bar bills of 4000 pounds a month for young subalterns was the norm , romantic supper for 2 and breakfast in bed next morning 250quid catered for by yours truly!!with champers and flowers 500quid ,helped to pay for my Jag xk150 :applaud:

Auld-Yin

ADC
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
Reviews Editor
easy enough to check , plenty of mess records knocking about for 61/62, its all easy enuf to check up on via google, go ahead back up your accusation
I find that hard to take on, I would not like to think my personal affairs were available that easily on line.

If it is so simple perhaps you could supply a couple of links.

Other arms senior drill course - infamous mess bills on that one.

I was broke for 2 months after I got back.

Ravers

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
I managed to rack up 120 quid in the crew bar on RFA Fort Vic.

Pretty impressive when you consider no wet in there cost more than 80p.

It must've been the crisps.

Hedonistic days my friend, hedonistic days.