Recruits unable to close left eye when shooting...

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Bravo_Bravo, Feb 19, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. On the ranges this weekend I counted three recruits either wearing an eyepatch or with a plaster over their left eye as "I cannot shut just my left eye."

Your thoughts?

2. mmm the word mong springs to mind, or just to plain lazy to keep one eye closed.
    However i have seen this before and it usually ends up with the unable person ending up in a crap firing position due to face being screwed all up on one side making their body lean over (still not sure how) and said person concentrating more on keeping eye closed than the target.
    But im not an expert just what ive seen.

3. They'd be good on Ops.

"Hang on I'm not ready to fire yet, I dont have my eye patch/plaster on Sir!"

4. We had a chap who ended up being the regimental butcher because he fired over 600 rounds at Dechmont ranges one day on the APWT and hit the target.....................once. No matter what the instructors tried he just could not do it. And this was when our Company had Sgts and Cpls who shot at Bisley every year.

Poor guy. Lovely bloke though and a great butcher.

5. Firing with both eyes open using iron sights is the bizz

6. They are gonna look silly on Ops with an eyepatch! The Sailsbury Area Social Club SASC would have a fit if they saw that on a range. I found dry firing drills and an eye disk a perfect aid. Do not let them use patches, plasters etc as they become reliant on it. Dry train it out of them, then on to the DCCT and once your happy with them onto the range.