recruits and CS gas

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Sammymantha, May 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm sorry but i find this discusting. I have no experience of the respirator drills but this cant be right. I know that its unpleasant for the recruits when they do it and its done for a reason but surely of all the training this was the one area that was most at risk of abuse.,,2-2006220184,00.html

Please people who have gone through these drills reassure me in particularly that this is the normal proceedure for the drill. The army will suffer big time from this. The odd bit of physical/sexual abuse may be over seen in a couple of months, but having recruits attacked by CS gas is another.

Sorry just my view.
  2. Strike another person won over by the scum!
  3. PTP has already locked the previous thread on this as it is an ongoing investigation. Please no more posts.
  4. I don't know about normal people but I had my little CS experience with the US army;

A while spent in the chamber, including jumping up and down etc, then one person at a time removes their ressie and had to give name, number and regiment. It was tough to get it all out as you were made to take a breath beforehand, you were held in there until you'd done it or they thought you never would manage it - then you went outside and flapped around.

I've not seen the entire video the scum shows. If they are laughing that's a bit much. Remember that CS gas isn't actually harmful, it's an irritant. I'm not going to pass judgement until the facts are known.