Recruiting and Universities

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Emkay, May 19, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. My unit is looking to boost numbers and as a final year student I offered to sound out my local university about the possibility of recruiting on campus during the freshers fair this September. Students can make good recruits because they have so much free time.

I went in to see the union and the member of staff who I spoke to was less then welcoming. I was quoted stupid money (four figures) to have a stand on campus and when I asked about alternative options they said that they wanted £750 per day to allow us access to campus just to hand out leaflets. Similar sky-high figures were quoted to put up posters or advertise in student newspapers.

To cap it all I was told that the last TA unit who had a stand at the freshers fair ended up attracting a large protest from the anti-war mob to the point that it defeated the object of the whole exercise. The union said that they were powerless to stop 'peaceful protest' at the freshers fair (not that they seemed bothered).

Anyone else got experience of recruiting on or around a university campus? I remember reading something about an OTC who got banned from a campus by the anti-war lot and decided to park a Land Rover just outside the uni grounds and recruit students on the way in and out. The union were furious but couldn't do anything because they weren't actually on campus.

2. I remember reading something about an OTC who got banned from a campus by the anti-war lot and decided to park a Land Rover just outside the uni grounds and recruit students on the way in and out. The union were furious but couldn't do anything because they weren't actually on campus.

I think you've answered your own question.

3. Sympathetic_Reaction

Sympathetic_Reaction LE Book Reviewer