Recruit training-how long?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by 303SMLE, Jun 16, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there,
    I am looking to join the new Aberystwyth Company of the RWR which is due to be opening in August/September time, and I have been trying to find out as much as possibly about how long it takes to go from recruit to operationally ready, (or whatever the term is). I am a student so am able to commit a fair amount of time to the exercise, although my camps will be restricted to the the holidays.

As far as I can see from the Website of the RWR, its an introduction/selection weekend, 6 training weekends, and a two week camp, followed by what they term "Training Gap", which seems to be teaching you all the bits they didn't have time to before! 8O

Allowing for having to wait for slots on courses/weekends etc. etc, how long could I expect the whole process to take? I gather there is currently a backlog waiting for courses? Is this correct?

As the Aber plt. is going to be 'new' and presumably contain a fair few new recruits all at once, is it likely that we will have an initial set of courses organised that will allow us to do the whole shegbang in short order as a Platoon, or is that just wishful thinking?

2. It can take between a year and two years to get a TA soldier operationally ready. The more time you can put in, the faster the training will go.
    I’m half way through my training and I’m really enjoying it.
    The first stage of your training, TAF1, will consist of lectures on subjects like security, the structure of the British army, etc. It’s interesting but not very challenging or fun, but once you get past that stage you’ll really enjoy being in the TA.
    Stick with it and you’ll find yourself challenged and rewarded for your efforts. You could do far worse with your time as a student.
  3. Hi,