Recommendations on best midsize motorbike for all round road

Discussion in 'Cars, Bikes 'n AFVs' started by cornjo, Mar 31, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have been riding a Bandit 600 (95) for the last two years, before then a GPZ 500. I am looking for a midsized motor, which i'll be able to ride to work each day, and also go on a bit of a tour across the water. I have test rode the VFR, its a lovely bike be not for me (due to the dropped handlebars, short screen/wind in your face, hard to lean). Can you guys and girls recommend a great bike out there?
  2. Hello cornjo,

I have never owned one but one of the biggest surprises I have had was a ride on one of the,then new,old style Yamaha 600 Fazers.
    Being used to more exotic things I was not expecting much but it was a thoroughly pleasant ride with a nice safe feel to it.
    This is the one,the old steel framed Fazer:

Get one of the late models with the improved seat,the too soft seat was the only negative on the one I borrowed.

3. Pick one of these three, then:
  4. If you're not too fussed about being fashionable have a look at Yamaha XJ600 & XJ900 Diversions. The 600 is still chain driven but the 900 has the advantage of a relativley hassle free shaft drive.

Or you could go for the ford focus of the bike world and look at a Honda Deauville. It does everything you are asking for but it's just not that exciting. Older models are 650's and the newer versions are 700's, pretty good fairing and built in panniers. Basically it's a baby Pan Euro!

I've got a nice XJ900 sitting in the garage looking for a new home, if you're interested drop me a pm on here and I'll give you some gen on her.
  5. Look at a 650 Vstrom and also an SV650. Why not also look at a newer bandit and later model Fazers.