Recce Regiments

Discussion in 'RAC' started by army_rec, Oct 11, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am from Telford in Shropshire. I am lookin at joining in the Formation Recce side of things. I am a bit new to all this and not great at finding out the best information on the net...........

Am i right in believing that the Regiments most relevant to me in terms of location are:

The Queens Dragoon Guards
    The Household Cavalry
    The Queens Royal Lancers

If i am right, how likely is it that i will be placed in 1 of the above regiments?

2. Do you have any family affiliations to these regiments?
    My Family are from Bishops Castle, my ancestors served in the KSLI and Welsh Guards.
    I chose HCR because they are the best. (awaits incoming)

3. You sure you want to go Recce??

4. No family history in the forces at all.

What are the + and - of the different Reg if there are any.

Yes im sure i want to go Recce, been umming and arring for the past year, always been something i have been interested in but keep coming across different trades and changing my mind. Didnt help being in a long term relationship at the time but now that is out the way i am positive what i want to do now. What i meant by not the best at finding out information is that its hard to judge when its not something that is written directly about what i want to know, can gain much more info when my questions are directly answered if you know what i mean.

5. JINGO

JINGO War Hero Book Reviewer

If you can find your way around Telford then you are over qualified for Formation Recce! I spent 14 years in The Blues And Royals/HCR, so i may come across somewhat biased but they are an excellent Regiment with an Operational record second to none.