RE Sparky or Engineer Troop Officer

DC.PL

Crow
Hello, I'm new to the forum so do excuse any unintentional stupidity or ignorance of my questions.

I've been browsing through the forum a lot but can't really find answers to questions that are going through my head before actually starting my application.

Basicaly I am interested in serving for maybe up to 10 years and then using the skills and qualifications gained to go back to a civilian life.

I've narrowed down the job that I would want to do to RE officer or sparky but here's some of my issues. The officer role seems to touch on all trades available which is something that really appeals to me but would I actually gain any formal qualifications from those trades? So for example would i get my level 2/3 in electrical instalation if I was an officer? Or would I strictly be gaining management qualifications and stuff to do with overseeing constructions? I am very interested in the sparky life but I've read a fair amount of threads on this forum which claim that since Ive done uni, got my degree etc it would make little sense for me to sign up as a soldier instead of an officer? I'm 22 by the way.

Furthermore, a friend of mine whom was a carpenter in RE said that he didn't end up getting some of his promised qualifications due to poor management even though he was in service for 6 years? Is that really something that could happen?

Finally I know this is a cliche question but generally whom would be more involved in the front line aspect of things? The official army website and (pretty outdated) videos on YouTube both claim that as a royal engineer, whether as an officer or tradesman I would be involved in combat fairly often.

Any insight is very appreciated, I know that this is a good choice for the future for me but I just need a bit more information to ease my brain. I would hate to do one or the other and then regret my choice further down the line.

chimera

LE
You are comparing apples with oranges.