RE or REME Officer

Discussion in 'Officers' started by Log, May 23, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Log

Hi chaps,

I'm after some advice/personal experiences of whether to enter into the RE or REME as an Officer. Maybe there are members here that can provide some insight into a career in either?

I've tried wading through the many posts explaining how crap Officers from both might be, and whilst it would be great to hear negative points from each, I would rather not have the thread overrun with them.

I have a degree in mechanical engineering and have the fam visits to look forward to, but naturally they will be bias as to which corp may offer a more interesting, varied and ultimately satisfying career.

Not that it matters but my grandfather had a good time in the RE (civil engineer) glueing buildings back together after the war but no doubt any advice from him may be outdated.

I'm currently rotting in Sierra Leone managing locally sourced mechanics and a small fleet of ex-mil DAF 8 tonners, TM 6x6s and Harley MT350s

Thanks very much

2. With a Mechanical Engineering degree i would have thought the REME would be right?
    • Like Like x 1
  3. REME all the way....................
  4. REME.

Unless you have a weird desire to supervise someone filling a HESCO?
  5. Depends what you're into!

Can't speak too much about REME, but if you want to remain on the vehs side, I would suggest that's probably the way to go.