RE Fitter (Gen)

Discussion in 'Sappers' started by RDAB-89, May 12, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys, as well as RSignals im taking a great interest in the RE.
    Having my father as an Ex RE ive heard many a stories and the RE is one of the two corps id love to join.

Im mainly looking at Comms Spec/Fitter. Im currently working in Telecoms and although the job finds itself ok, im not sure that from searching and reading from other views that it is essentially the same, and that i would enjoy it.

Fitter, well although i have very little hands on mechnical experience (only 21 and spent all my education around IT) ive always been interested in mechanics, engines and how things tick. Quite frankly i prefer to see this working rather than the black magic that is, electronics and circuitboards.

What would be great is if anyone could give me a "hands on" view of what these trades are like, ive tried searching and ive found a few posts about Comms, but very little on Fitter other than the odd bit here and there.

If there are any General fitters out there id love to know the best and worst parts of your job, if you find it interesting and just a bit about it.

Serving comms would also be grateful.

Kind Regards,

Rob

2. The only thing I really know about our fitters is that they work very closely with REME and are very good at what they do.
    I'll ask around and see what info I can get off the lads, is it anything specific you want to know or just a general overview of what they do?

3. Hiya, Thanks for the reply.

A couple of mainstream questions would be fantastic.
    Ill list a few if thats okay.

1. Do you mainly work in the workshop or out in the field/outside repairs?