RCB And A Criminal Record???

Discussion in 'Officers' started by APOS, Oct 4, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there im wondering if someone can help me with a tricky question regarding RCB and a criminal record?...

When I was 16 (23 now!!), i got arrested by the police.
    I was subseqently charged and given a very small fine from the court.
    Fast forward 7 years and Im now a mature graduate, who luckily learned from his mistake, matured and thinks he would be a good army officer.

I spoke to a nice sergeant at my local AFCO about what had happened to see if I could apply. He told me the conviction was "Spent under the terms of the rehabilitation of offenders act", as it had been more than 5 years since it had happened. He then said I the legal right to forget about it and not mention it when interviewed or on the application forms.

Since then I have not mentioned the conviction to anyone and have succesfully passed the RCB brief and have gained sponsership

Now im just hoping he told me the correct information as I have a date with the RCB main board and I dont want this to go t**s up!
    Could anyone please advise me of what the right of course of action is, as in an ideal world if the conviction is spent I dont want to have to talk about it??

Hope someone can help,

Thanks, APOS 8O
  2. Whether it's spent or not, you should declare it as they'll find out anyway :wink:
  3. There are exceptions to the right of non-disclosure of spent convictions. One of these exceptions is national security. I would have expected this to be explained on the forms which you have completed: can anyone else confirm?

The fact APOS that you were arrested is not relevant: all that matters is the offence you were actually convicted of, and the penalty imposed.