ranks/officer progression

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by bitty, Aug 2, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. ok, first post, so i'm going to try my hardest not to invite the level of abuse that some people get (just been reading an old post by someone called "greenslime?", seems like he got a pretty hard time!).

anyway, my question is this; if you join the int corps ranks, what are the options/timescales for becoming an officer, if thats what you choose? this isn't a "are officers better?" or "will i get a better uniform/more ladies?" question, its a question about levels of responsibility and progression.

bear in mind that i've got little military experience, except for a visit to the Royal Artillery before uni (when i was 19, now 24) to discuss officer entry. nice food and cool stuff but didn't appeal to me. :)

2. If you want a commission, apply for it direct. You do not have to go through the ranks first.

However, if you want to join the ranks, your promotion depends on how good you are, both as a tradesman and a soldier. LE commissioning (ie commissioning from the ranks) is extremely achievable. On average you can expect to get to WO2 within about 16 years. You can then apply for a LE commision at WO2. It is not guaranteed but prospects are good.

3. i see, so if you join the ranks, you're committed to stay there until you reach WO2?

4. I would also add that you can achieve that without being an LE. However as you wouldn't have the experiance of a WO2/1 you'd have to do RMAS for a year. You also still need to do RCB (i'm told).

So really if it's your end goal I'd suggest as the eye spy did, going direct. However as a ranker and as a DE you have no guarantee of getting into the Corps until selection time at RMAS. (Unless you're that extra special or desperatly in need chap that the Major is looking for).