Range Safety question

Discussion in 'Juniors' started by Gaz3447, Mar 31, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm looking some clarification here regarding the level of qual needed to assist on a range.

Around 4 years ago I did a CMCQ (Combat Marksman Coaching Course Qualification) to which I was informed at the end of it I was now qualified to conduct WHTs and to be range safety. It also states this on the qualification notice in my personal docs file.

I was asked to assist on the range this weekend, which I did, until I was asked if I was 1-3 qualified, which I'm not (although due to attend this course next month). Not sure if the 1-3 is the same as the Range Management Qualification (I thought that was the RCO course...). Upon declaring that I wasn't, the boss went into flap mode and ran about looking for someone who was. Didn't really bother me, as I got to sit in the console and run the targets all day :D

I was wondering if I am indeed qualified to carry out the duties mentioned above and the boss was wrong, or has the guidelines changed whereas now only 1-3 qual'd personnel can be range safety?

Clarification would be great.

2. The_Duke

The_Duke LE Moderator

From memory, your boss has it arrse about face. CMCQ qualifies you to assist as a safety supervisor. You used to need RMQ to be OIC Butts or control the console.

Caveat - I do not have Pam 21 in front of me, and stand by to be corrected.

3. Duke you are correct and the lads boss would have been fine using him as a range safety staff but has dropped a bollock by using him as a console I/C.

4. Range safety is different to RCO, if someone has done RMQ 1-3 or the SAA course then they can do RCO, but as you were asked to assist then it shouldnt have been a problem because you weren't running the range.