RAMC CMT

Afternoon,

Can anyone give me a bit of insight into the role of reserve medic progression etc?

I’ve been out of green for some time and considering giving it a crack of the whip to rejoin the reserves at my local med sqn since I work for the ambo service it made sense.

I have trawled the forums and what is here seems to be quite old.

Ideally looking to learn a little about what I can expect in the way training. scope of practice. My understanding is it’s along the lines of some weekends and a few weeks standard training followed by trade which would be a CMT 3 course?

It’s then my understanding that it would be a year before CMT 2 then 1.

Is there anything in the way of civilian recognised training?

Any information is good information. Going for a meeting with the local unit in a few days so can no doubt ask some of these questions but would be interesting to hear the spiel from someone who isn’t a recruiter.

Depends how long you've been out, best ot speak to your local unit so I'm sure they'll give better answers than anyone here.

I expect they may also have a way to convert your civvie qualifications or make it easier for you jump through a few hoops.

Snapper 25

Clanker
Unless your joining a ramc unit, or you need the qualifications to pursue a civi medical career. I would think twice about being a medic. All you ever do on exercise is sit about waiting with not a lot to do.
You won't get much meaningful training unless you get lucky and join a unit with a good med element.

Afternoon,

Can anyone give me a bit of insight into the role of reserve medic progression etc?

I’ve been out of green for some time and considering giving it a crack of the whip to rejoin the reserves at my local med sqn since I work for the ambo service it made sense.

I have trawled the forums and what is here seems to be quite old.