RAF into SAS

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by DN12345, Nov 20, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

My first post here and having looked through a few of the threads I'm hoping I'll be able to get some good information here.

I'm a serving RAF Officer at present (not regiment) and am interested in applying for selection at some point in the next 12 - 18 months. Just wondering if anyone has heard of many non-infantry people attempting/passing and how I might go about applying - current station isn't overflowing with info of this sort!

2. I know of one crab who went Regt a while back. He was a rockape though. Although thats not really Inf in the military sense. He ended up swimming in a Hawaian shirt and flip flops...but thats antoher story....... :wink:

So in reply, yes it has been done before but if you have no military background, the going will be harder. When I say no military background, I'm taking the pish due to you being a crab. You should be able to find details on how to apply on DII or JPA.
  3. Not being infantry isnt a problem, not being army is. Things may have changed in recent years, but I cant see any easy obvious paths for you. Back in the day, the route may have been for you to leave the service and attempt selection into 21/23 and from there, try for 22, but even then you would require sponsorship. If you'd been a rockape, I'm sure they'd have stretched the rules. Do you fly anything other than a desk, as I'm sure that might pique their interest.
  4. Blinking flip....I didn't realise it was a Hawaian shirt, I thought he'd been to a toga party!

Sorry DN12345 - no help to you whatsoever.
  5. The head DS there 5 or 6 years ago, I hate to admit was ex RAF Regiment so all is not impossible!!