Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by Happy_holidays, Apr 7, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok bit of background. I'm currently a student doing my A levels at college. I've applied for uni (for Paramedic courses) through UCAS this year and been rejected from everywhere after interview. As such I will be re-applying to uni next year. If I don't get in then I was thinking about a career in the Army as a Radiographer.
    What I want to know is when would I have to apply by to be able to start in Sept 09 and would be the last opportunity to pull out if I was to get an offer for uni.
    And for those who wonder why Radiographer not CMT if I'm applying for Paramedic courses at uni its because I would be quite happy being a Paramedic in civvie street but from what I've read I don't think I'd like being a CMT (no offence guys). Plus Radiography has always interested me and is what I want to do if I can't become a Paramedic.
  2. The answer you want: 220 points from 3 A levels in specific subjects required. Selection board is Feb/Mar and paperwork needs to be in Glasgow before Jan 09. You must commence Phase 1 training by May to pass out before the course starts in Sept.

The answer you dont want: You need results of A levels before May and it sounds very much that you only want to do radiography in the Army if all else fails - not really a very good impression to give is it?. With very few places each year only those who manage to convince us that their only reason to exist is to be a radiographer make it passed the board. If you are still considering uni then you would probably be excluded at that stage.
  3. I will be getting my A level results this August so that won't be a problem. As for other uni applications I would probably hear from them in around March/early April.