Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Radio Procedures

Hi,

First off, sorry if this is in the wrong topic category. Didn’t know where would be the most relevant place to ask.

Anyway.

I’m a bit of a writer, not the best and at the moment it’s only a small group of friends that I’m sharing it with, but it’s a story I’ve had for a while since before I decided to not get into the game design industry.

What I’d like to ask is whether anyone could help me with our radio procedures and callsigns. Years ago I was in the ACF and I did pass my Radio User Course, however since it’s been a hell of a long time it’s all pretty much vague and general memories of “Lima One One Charlie” and how to actually operate the radio set itself rather than communicating over it.

Just any help regarding how we refer to sections and fireteams, how you’d communicate with friendly supporting aircraft... general stuff like that so I’m not just writing Hollywood-level crap that would piss off anyone who actually has proper military experience.

Thanks.

ugly

LE
I'm out of date but I did make the transition to Charlie and delta for fire teams and 0A instead of 9.
Both work, it just depends upon your period. I have noticed we do seem to have a lot of the cousins preferred lingo in our comms on ops. Mind you some of them have gone full on yeehaw so we aren't too bad.

Get thee behind me Satan! thou art offering temptation, I cannot spend the next three weeks coaching you on the contents of PAM 5; out.

Last edited:

AlienFTM

MIA
Book Reviewer
I'm out of date but I did make the transition to Charlie and delta for fire teams and 0A instead of 9.
Both work, it just depends upon your period.