Rac 1989

Discussion in 'RAC' started by Peeler, Mar 1, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

I have been working on (for what seems like years) an ORBAT for BAOR in July 1989 at war establishment (not only the units in Germany but the reinforcements that would come over from the UK if the ballon went up). After reading dozens of regimental histories (buying almost every book about BAOR), visiting websites (like ARRSE !!), and contacting museums/associations, I'm about ready to start putting all my material together. However I wanted to see if members of ARRSE can further help me and fact check some things. So I will start to post, by each Arm or Service, what I have and hope that whatever omissions or mistakes I've made can be remedied by ARRSE members. I will start with the RAC (I am posting this in Military History, The Old and Bold, and RAC boards). Thank you in advance for any and all help.

Peeler

(see subsequent post)

2. Are you sure you don't want to bang this in a few more bloody forums you greedy bastard?

3. Sorry for the typos and the thread should read RAC 1989. I will clean it up after work.
    CC, yeah I did get a bit greedy ! Just wanted to get the most exposure though.

• Like Like x 1
  4. You should also sort your spelling and abbreviations out if you want to publish this.

Sqds = Sqns
    Ard = Armd
    Tidwoth=Tidworth
    Cobermere = Combermere
    Rgt = regt

There are more but i cant be bothered to read it all tbh.

C Sqn RH(PWO) were the AMF Sqn and we didnt have any extra tanks either, just the bulk standard 14 as per any other Armd Sqn.
    We were a type 43 Armd Regt (3 x 14 +1(CO's Tk)) as B Sqn came under Comd the Warminster Demonstration Bn and we didnt have a lot to do with them at all. They werent even part of our UIN.