Quick question regarding Soldier/Officer selection

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by fulham1, Dec 28, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have been in the TA for over two years now and love the Army. I am transferring to become a regular soldier and just waiting for my date to start basic training. After speaking to my brother he mentioned going in as an Officer, I did consider it when I started the process but didn’t think it would be for me. I have since spoken with one of my mum’s friends, a Major who has further put the idea of going for Officer Selection into my head.

Now that I am so close to joining as a regular soldier if I were to switch my application to one for Officer, would I have to start the whole process from scratch, e.g. medical etc or could my military files be flipped over and I go directly to the interview, ASOB stage of the process?

If I can’t do this, once I am at Pirbright can I ask to try for Officer Selection there?

Have any of you gone from Regular soldier to Officer while serving ot training or know that you can change your mind when so close to getting a start date for basic?

I am set on a career in the Army; I just wanted to explore all options.

Sorry for the length of this message.

2. Much easier to change from potential soldier to potential officer before going to basic training, I would suggest. Basic training is generally seen as a but of a pipeline to get people through as soldiers and although some do get picked up as potential officers at this stage, they are pretty few and far between.