Quick Introduction

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Whomps, Sep 29, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey!

Thought I'd introduce myself onto the forum, forgive me if this is the wrong place to do it but I'm new on here.

Just finished uni and looking at joining the Army as an officer. Think Signals, Intelligence or AGC (as it's the most relevant to my degree) are the trades I'm looking at going into.

I'm pretty new to the Army way of life and though I've got a couple of lad friends in the Army I don't know of any girls, so it would be great to see what selection is like from a girls persepective if anyone could share their experience?

Also, quick Q, I went to the AFCO the other day to talk about joining and they've booked me in for a briefing and I wanted to ask what sort of thing I can expect from this and any tips of things to do for it?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Cheers,

Whomps

2. The briefing is a two day selection process after which you will be given one of four categories:-
    1) Well done go to main board and smash it!
    2) With a little bit of work you can do this, try main board in 6/12/18 months
    3) Not that good and you will probably fail but you can try if you want
    4) Have you ever thought about the Navy?

It consists of a mixture of mental and physical tasks which you will be assesed on (though only the mental aptitude carries through to main board)

Make sure you are up to date with current affairs and can get to the level needed on the bleep test and you should be fine. Make as many notes as possible and try and enjoy yourself.

See if you can get on the RLC fam visit as this is great prep for the process and they have a free bar :D

3. Hello and welcome to the Potential Officer's club!