Questions regarding my commission attempt? please advise.

Discussion in 'Officers' started by geoffgb, Oct 25, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all, I am new to this forum and would really appreciate your advice and opinions on my personal case/concerns for attempting to gain a place at Sandhurst.

Firstly from a education persperspective I think I have enough 'weight' as such; including a BSc and I am just in my final stages of my MSc.

CONCERN: Someone told me that having a MSc can act as a hinderance as the selection board will wonder why I didn't just apply for a commission after i finished my BSc.

I am 27, married and have alot of life experience, including working with young offenders, teaching self defence to all demographics and working as a doorman for several years (not out of choice i can assure you! it just paid for my tuition fees)

CONCERN: am i too old? (I am interested in the Royal Artillery) and would they frown at the fact that I have worked as a doorman due to the often negative perception a of 'bouncer' ?

I am physically fit, but my main source of fitness has derived by myself training and competing in MMA (mixed martial arts) events, which is often termed as Cage Fighting/ Extreme Fighting etc. All the events i have competed in have been sanctioned and legal, with MMA being a legitimate sport.

CONCERN: the perception of MMA by alot of people is not very good to say the least, and would the selection board really frown apon this activity and it have a decisive effect of my chances of passing selection?

Thankyou for your time in answering these concerns
  2. A lot of bods beef up their CVs with bo11ox, perhaps you should water yours down...... doormen as Gunner officers, whatever next!

Good Luck!
  3. Er, most of us were selective about the hobbies we revealed to RCB/AOSB!