Questions re transfer

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by otter, Nov 16, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just signed on the dotted line and discovered this site in a quest for knowledge!!

I've only joined my regiment in the last couple of months and now it looks like I have to move to London. How easy is it to transfer to another unit?

Also I have few job commitments for the next few months and would be happy to volunteer to head out into the operational theatre. Any advice? I don't want to ask at my own TAC just yet as I'm new to whole system and on best behaviour. From what I can gather a few of our chaps have been over in Iraq.

2. Easy enough just speak to the coy/sqn clerk and psao but find the unit you want to join first. When I transferred I was told that until I was officially on the books I couldn't attend training. The process is easy enough but it just takes time!

As for op tours again speak to your PSI when you are ready they should know what opportunities are about my advice don't rush into it.
  3. From what i understand a transfer should not be too difficult as long as you have a genuine reason as it sounds as if you do. Have a chat with your PSI or PSAO. They should be able to give you precise information. Have you got your number yet? If not then it may just be a thing of rocking up at the unit nearest to your new home and chatting to them but if you have a number then like i said, PSI or PSAO would be your best bet.

With regard to you doing a tour somewhere as you dont say how far into your training you are but do say youve only been in a couple of months im guessing that you havnt done your Recruits course. You need to to this course and finish basic before your unit would even consider puttting your name forward for anything but if you have done basic then i would be hesitant about going for a tour.