Questions about how to approach regimental recruiting

Morning all,
I just have a few questions about how to approach the Irish guards. I’m currently in my first year at Newcastle University and I am pretty much set on joining the army. Ideally I would like to commission into the micks. I have two questions that I’m sure someone can
answer.

First, I am of the understanding that a certain amount of patronage still exists in the Household Division. I am somewhat lucky that my father is a barrister, a profession which has a habit of attracting a few former officers of the red and blue variety. I am however somewhat unlucky that he knows not one former mick officer, he does however know a former grenadier (retired out at either captain or major and still plays polo at the guards polo club) . Their professional relationship is pretty good going, good enough for my father to drop a phone call to see when I could get in touch with him. I do plan to get in touch no matter what however my question is this, will he be especially helpful? Or will it have to be a more I’ll get you in contact with someone who can be more helpful? Now obviously none of you will know exactly as he may be incredibly helpful or not at all. I just would like to grasp what your opinions on if he will likely be helpful or not so much and any advice on what to do/how to approach it.

Secondly, I do also plan to arrange a regimental visit either directly or through the route I’ve already discussed. When should I do this, before or after my AOSB (assuming I pass ;) )?

Thanks in advance
Jamie.

If you are in your first year why are you not in the UOTC? Tell them your regimental ambition and you should get to spend time with them.

I shall give you a priceless treasure of advice too: If, or when, you go to visit the regiment use your eyes and ears more than your mouth. They are already assessing you and putting you into a pigeonhole regarding your character, attitude, and approach.

I wish you luck.