Questioning DNA evidence

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by CDT_Dodger, Nov 27, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. With all latest news on Mr Barry George and the speck of powder which convicted him - it got me thinking that in some areas DNA is not that watertight.

My example being:

If a person was to obtain my comb/hairbrush and toothbrush by whatever means. And with the hairbrush - brush it around the inside of a balacalva. With the toothbrush - brush it around the top of a pen. Then place the balacava and pen at or near the scene of a crime with the expectation that they would be discovered by the Police. Does this not place me in a difficult position if I havnt got a rock solid alibi?

Im no expert in this but it would be a lot easier to place an item that can hold DNA at a crimescene than it would be for anyone to place a fingerprint.

Can any budding SIB Sherlock Holmes type bods care to query this.
  2. But surely all other evidence at the crime scene wouldnt fit, because it wouldnt have any of your DNA on it.

Depending on the crime, then you would expect to find evidence all over the place - not just one item placed at the scene.

I imagine it takes alot more than one piece of DNA to convict you. Barry George wasnt convicted on one bit of DNA alone. They are just using is as leverage to get his conviction overturned.
  3. Who are you trying to fit up, scouse?
  4. Biped

Biped LE Book Reviewer

You, you fat, useless, lying, sweaty dour jock wnaker. You shouldn't be in number 10, you should be getting bum-fondled in jail. :D