Question on age and other stuff.

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Xoums, Jan 15, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everybody,
    Im a 26 year old graduate, ive recently quit my soul crushing office job to pursue my dream to become a pro thai boxer, i went to thailand for a few months and had a few pro bouts over there. Having done that and not really seeing a profitable or stable career in the world of pro boxing I have turned my attention to the army. I have always had a fascination with things relating to military matters, and the role of the warrior in society, and during my travels in Asia I met up with a Cpt of the Royal marines with who I had many converstaions about the army and life as a soldier, our talks kind of acted as a catalyst to get me to finaly make my mind up and decide to start my application.
    I have a graduate degree In history and french, my fitness is pretty good at the momment but im always training and trying to improve one way or another. Im trying to keep up to date with current affairs and get as broad a view as possible of the news and current military conflicts we are engaged in ie: Afghanistan.
    I bought a copy of Clauswitz "On war" and have bought another few books on the history of warfare and the structure and history of the british army that i am really enjoying.
    I feel rather confident about my fitness nevertheless i dont like taking anything for granted but im concerned about my age, and the fact that I dont come from a "priviledged" background and I might come across a bit rough around the edges.
    I have dual Nationality (Franco/Brritish) and really enjoye languages and bridging cultural and linguistic barriers and therefore have expressed my interrested in joining the RGR.