Question from a US Army Aviation CW3 AH-64 Pilot

Discussion in 'Aviation' started by djmel, Jun 12, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello fellow aviators, I hope you don't mind me asking some very basic questions about your aviation corp. I am a CW3 AH-64 Instructor Pilot in the US Army. We have Commissioned Officers whom end up doing most of all the staff jobs and we have Warrant Officers that stay flying most of their careers. Our system seems to be similar to yours, except that your have NCOs that fly instead of WO (please correct me if I am wrong). Our system seems to work ok with the exception of a few things. Our Commissioned Officers do not get a lot of flight time before they move to staff, that in itself sometimes creates a problem because they do not have the experience needed to make decisions that affect those of us at the company (line pilots) level. They are not required to be a WO before they get commissioned; therefore their flying experience is generally low. The WOs in most have cases a good amount of experience but are not in charge of making the decision. Most decisions are left the Commissioned Officers. That in itself is very frustrating to the WOs because although they have the experience and flight time they are generally not allowed to make many decisions. We generally don't have a problem making things work, however generally there is a wall (big separation) between the Commissioned Officers and the Warrant Officers due to the reasons I mentioned above.

Questions
    1. Do you have WOs that fly?
    2. I there a lot of disagreement between your flying NCOs and your Commissioned Officers?
    3. Are your Commissioned Officers required to be an NCO in order to get experience before they become a Commissioned Officer?

Thank you.

2. 1. Yes we do.
    2. No there isn't.
    3. No they don't!