query over medical history

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by chappy, Nov 16, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello, just a quick query here, wondering if anyone can shed any light. I graduated from university this year I am seriously considering applying to RMAS. I have sent off my POC form and have been informed my local ACA(O) will contact me. I am all good to go and keen to get the ball rolling but have one concern. During my last year at uni I had a bit of a serious balls up, found myself in a state of mild depression and my degree in serious jeopardy. At the time I was advised by my GP to see a therapist for a few sessions, and was briefly put on mild anti depressants (the lowest dosage of the mildest stuff). I found the meds fairly ineffective, but the therapy spot on. After a few months I pulled myself out of this little rut and went on to graduate successfully. I was on this stuff for 4 months only and have been off since May. Is this likely to affect my application? I have no history of any health probs other than this tiny blip. I wouldn’t mention it all (I never do) but seeing that this is the army I imagine they will find out. This was not really a depression of anxiety or panic but rather brought on by unresolved issues of anger, aggression and a feeling of disappointment at perceived failure in myself. I’ve thought long and hard about this. Officers are all about leadership, right? Who wants (or should be led at all) by a bloke who once made himself unwell because he got too riled up at things? I’ve heard the whole “if you can’t handle civvy life you’ve got no chance in the army” thing, and I agree that if an individual is mentally unstable then there is an unacceptable risk they may freak out when something goes bang. I’ve also been told that maybe the army is not for me and I shouldn’