Query over medical history

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by chappy, Nov 15, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello, just a quick query here, wondering if anyone can shed any light. I graduated from university this year and have decided to apply to RMAS. I have sent off my POC form and have been informed my local ACA(O) will contact me. I am all good to go and keen to get the ball rolling but have one concern. During my last year at uni I had a bit of a serious balls up, found myself in a state of mild depression and my degree in serious jeopardy. At the time I was advised by my GP to see a therapist for a few sessions, and was briefly put on mild anti depressants (the lowest dosage of the mildest stuff) to get me through my dissertations. After a few months I pulled myself out of this little rut and went on to graduate successfully. I was on this stuff for 4 months only and have been off since May. Is this likely to affect my application? I have no history of any health probs other than this tiny blip. I wouldn’t mention it all (I never do) but seeing that this is the army I imagine they will find out. I am fit, healthy, entirely compus mentis and raring to go, but the last thing I want is to be shown the door midway through application for covering it up. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. So you cracked under the pressure of writing an essay?
    What kind of medication will you need when you have brass flying over your head and 50 men to command?

3. MS_Rep

MS_Rep RIP

Be honest and own up :lol:

Better still be honest with yourself?

Are you sure the Army is for you? :roll:

4. yeah that essay was really tough- it nearly broke me(!), but the source of the probs lay elsewhere. Don't wanna bother people with a life story but they don't give out happy pills for writers block.