Qualifications

Hi

I just wondered if someone could give me a little insight please, firstly I will fill you in on the background, I am currently working for a construction firm as a trainee quantity surveyor, I am currently just starting the second year of my HNC Building Studies.

Ok, now that’s me and what I’m doing at the moment, however I decided to join as I do not like working in an office and have had a genuine interest in joining up since I left school (I am now 21) I am looking to join the Royal Engineers as an Electrician however I need C grades in English, science and match. I did get C's in science and maths but not in English (which has actually got allot better since my GCSE’s)

When I spoke to the recruitment officer he said that they could shade that considering I did finish my HNC as it proves that I am literate, but here's the difficult but, I have just today been told that I am getting made redundant and they will not be putting me through my second year HNC so I was wondering if they may shade the D grade in English still considering I have a level 2 NVQ in painting and decorating (acquired through an apprenticeship) and a B-TEC in Building Studies (which was required once I had done my apprenticeship to start the HNC)

I know I should go to my career office but it isn't open at the weekends and would like to have an idea ASAP, any feedback would be useful, thank you.

Chris

I wouldn't overly worry. You'll sit Army tests which if you reach the required level will mean your lack of formal school qualifications won't matter.

sutton said:
I have done my BARB test and general litracy and nuumeracy I think I did ok on them. Just hope so. Thanks though.
If you achieved the required pass for your proposed trade then you will be fine.